Regional "Personalities" on St B's

DavidB

SBH Member
Greetings,

One week from tomorrow, my wife and I will arrive for a 2-3 week stay on St. Barts. This will be our 5th trip to the island however this trip is a bit different. Our hope is to purchase a villa in the coming 12-18 months and we are going to begin the process.

A bit about us, I'm a retired veterinarian and my wife a general contractor. We live in Southern California on the beach. We love our little town of Hermosa Beach (the first certified "Blue Zone" in the US), are active in the community, and are passionate about protecting the environment.

Looking at St. Barts through the lens of becoming a resident is very different than thru the lens on a tourist. I ask your help and opinions.

I'm curious first of all, if the various regions on the island are different from one another, not only in their topography, but in their "personality"? If so, then can you please comment on the regions from the perspective of a resident. Are some areas populated more by locals, do some have more of a sense of community, some more isolating, more walkable, more "connectivity", better climate, etc.

Thanks for your opinions and assistance. I look forward to your replies. See you next week :cool:

David

David,

Enjoy your trip and your discovery process. We have frequent poster who live, or have lived, in nearly all the areas of the island. Hopefully they will offer some insight into your questions.

Location, location, location ...... St. Barths is no different than anywhere else ... it all depends on your intentions with your villa - and your lifestyle ..