I will be in Miami, for 2 shows, this month. I plan on bringing my camera to use during my days off. I'd like to do a series of the art deco buildings

Eddie

Senior Insider
Art Deco Hotels

I will be in Miami, for 2 shows, this month. I plan on bringing my camera to use during my days off. I'd like to do a series of the art deco buildings. I have no knowledge of the area. Anyone know where I should go and, any specific buildings to shoot? Thanks.

Re: Art Deco Hotels

Coconut Grove....lots of art deco there..and Monty Trainers as well for slurpin oysters and drinking beer on the water

South Beach has the greatest concentration. Here's my fave:
rEto02jmmTlolVMHK7JrTMgpxQu6FZPB0300.jpg

Thanks, Bev, Mike & Josh. I'll be staying in South Miami which, I imagine, isn't too far from South Beach. One of my shows is in Coconut Grove, about 7 minutes from where I'm staying.

Thanks, Bev, Mike & Josh. I'll be staying in South Miami which, I imagine, isn't too far from South Beach. One of my shows is in Coconut Grove, about 7 minutes from where I'm staying.

South Beach South Beach South Beach.

Ocean Drive in particular, though there are some notable hotels just a bit north on Collins.

What is particularly great about Ocean drive is you will find a park on the opposite side, which gives tremendous freedom for moving around and setting up shots. Bring a tripod as night shots with a neon are a blast.

I guess I'll be going to South Beach.
I always have a tripod. My camera can't be used without one. I hadn't thought of night shots, though. I'm shooting black & white, only, this trip.

If your analog technology can handle it and if you can expand beyond hotels, get a few photos of this building and remove the ugly pole and wires. May have to go digital for this.

r8EgF-xUxnfZPGWza5uEo18STBH3B2H00300.jpg

Also, original hotel interiors are worth a study. Note the mezzanine.

Fo9fA6X7R9FjtoNTDualLzlVaDeQG3cU0300.jpg