Results 1 to 29 of 29

Thread: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

  1. #1
    dadto6 is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Aug 2013 Northern Virginia Posts: 2,044

    QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    After reviewing the specials page this morning, Thank you Andy, we elected QG because both their specials agreed with our group of 11. I proceeded to make a reservation for lunch. We arrived and our group were promptly seated at 12:32. We were provided menus around 12:35. Unfortunately, no one came to speak with us for 30-minutes. We were obviously in a conspicuous location, table for 11 on the main aisle leading from the entrance back to the kitchen. No one made eye contact, asked us if we wanted drinks or water. Even the Owner was cleaning off a table adjacent to ours, surely, he should have noticed we had nothing in the way of services. I became frustrated at 1:02, 30-minutes after our arrival. I gathered up our group and we promptly departed. As I was leaving, a waiter said are you finished? I replied "no one has even asked us for drink selections", he gave me a hand gesture like leave then. I can understand off days, but nothing seems out of the ordinary this day. Same wait staff, same Owner, others were getting their food and drinks. No weather calamity or power outage, etc.

    I sent the others back to the Villa to set up tables with silverware and glasses. Obviously, we have two vehicles. I immediately drove to Les Bananiers, ordered up a variety of pizza's from Remy, couple of Truffle Crème Fettuccine with Parmesan Cheese lunch specials, couple of cheeseburgers with frites. Meanwhile, I enjoyed a refreshing Mojito Royal while I waited in the lounge area next to Remy's work station. I timed it, 21-minutes from order to exiting with take away bags/boxes in hand.

    No axe to grind here, just reporting the facts.

  2. #2
    NancySC is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Sep 2017 Posts: 949

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    No excuses for QG, especially with a reservation for your numbers. Can't miss a table for 11...their loss, Bananiers gain. Glad you walked, I think I would have said something to the owner on my way out !

  3. #3
    didier is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Oct 2005 flamands Posts: 4,854

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    saying something on this site is better than saying something to the owner. word of mouth will make a restaurant wake up and if not, they go down the drain eventually.

  4. #4
    cassidain is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Jul 2007 Ailleurs Posts: 6,412

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Quote Originally Posted by dadto6 View Post
    I gathered up our group and we promptly departed.
    bravo !
    Fils du Sud - Ministre de la Santé

    If I can't wear my Havaianas, I ain't goin'...ÀMHA

  5. #5
    GMP62 is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Feb 2015 Martinsville, NJ Posts: 1,578

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Absolutely shameful, full stop. I feel badly for your lovely family having to be treated so rudely. You’re a true gentleman, which we already knew, and not surprised by your grace in this situation. QG’s loss only. I’m sure you all enjoyed a delicious lunch from Bananiers at your villa!

  6. #6
    stbartshopper is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Dec 2013 Indianapolis, Indiana, U.S.A. Posts: 9,114

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    We just canceled our reservation there.

  7. #7
    Jeanette is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Apr 2005 Cambridge, MA Posts: 7,473

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    DT6, I am sorry to read about your experience. I am learning from your posts this week as I have to feed five adults next month. I can't image a family of 11.

    I won't dine at QG for lunch again. The last time we ate lunch there, we were surrounded by five tables of heavy smokers. I started struggling to breathe and had an asthma attack. We asked the staff to be moved and they were rude to us.

    L'Isoletta has a lovely 20 euro lunch special which includes a salad, a panini, pasta or three slices of pizza, a glass of wine or beer and a small dessert and coffee.
    Liberté, Égalité, Sororité

  8. #8
    Hawke is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: May 2011 Posts: 891

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Again I hope that is available in April. It is nice to see resonably priced lunches on St. Barts.

  9. #9
    dadto6 is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Aug 2013 Northern Virginia Posts: 2,044

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Hello Kent,
    Check out the LeNews, it is available everyday on-line in english. There are many listings daily of lunch specials, mostly priced under 20-Euros which include drink (soda/juice), food and coffee. We find it enjoyable to dine a more local establishments for lunch, always generous portions at excellent prices.

  10. #10
    stbartshopper is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Dec 2013 Indianapolis, Indiana, U.S.A. Posts: 9,114

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Darn those smokers and those restaurants that ask us non smokers to breathe the smoke while we dine there. We vote with our feet!

  11. #11
    Cwater is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Feb 2016 Long Island Posts: 404

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    It would be smart for QG as well as other restaurant owners and managers to be on these types of forums.

  12. #12
    andynap is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Oct 2002 Philadelphia Posts: 43,956

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Could this be the reason for poor service?

    Name:  195631FF-FA67-4FA2-954B-C7637BAFF89C.jpeg
Views: 374
Size:  391.1 KB


    Andy

  13. #13
    amyb is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Apr 2008 Glen Cove,L. I., NY Posts: 26,052

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Andy we are noticing constant turnover. Staffing is a huge problem.
    Remember Yesterday, Dream About Tomorrow, But Live Today.

  14. #14
    andynap is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Oct 2002 Philadelphia Posts: 43,956

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Quote Originally Posted by amyb View Post
    Andy we are noticing constant turnover. Staffing is a huge problem.
    I have seen ads for restaurant help in several places the last few weeks


    Andy

  15. #15
    cec1 is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Jul 2008 Posts: 5,582

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    The turnover and difficulty in finding staffing is a pretty remarkable development . . . I don't recall ever seeing the issue, to the large degree that it is this season. I gather that it's principally driven by a lack of affordable housing on the island.

  16. #16
    dadto6 is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Aug 2013 Northern Virginia Posts: 2,044

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Astute observation Dennis, you should know best and recognize the signs.

    Regarding QG, when we were attempting to dine there last week, the same three woman and two men whom were servicing the tables was the same as last season. No turnover that I could recognize on the server front.

  17. #17
    agenova is offline
    SBH Member Joined: Jan 2015 Atlanta Posts: 39

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    We ate there for dinner on the evening of Sunday, 1/12 after an enjoyable day at Nikki Beach. It was pretty empty (which was surprising given there aren't a ton of options for Sunday night dining) and while the service was fine, I was disappointed to see they had just changed the menu and the risotto with mushrooms and scallops is no longer offered. Everyone seemed to enjoy their meal but I had my heart set on that risotto dish. I'm sorry to hear that you had a bad experience.

  18. #18
    dadto6 is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Aug 2013 Northern Virginia Posts: 2,044

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Hello agenova,
    in 30-minutes we did not even get the chance to look at a menu. Sorry to hear you did not get the dish you had your heart set upon. We have always enjoyed the food at QG.

  19. #19
    Jim A is offline
    SBH Member Joined: Jan 2017 NY Posts: 399

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Quote Originally Posted by andynap View Post
    Could this be the reason for poor service?

    Name:  195631FF-FA67-4FA2-954B-C7637BAFF89C.jpeg
Views: 374
Size:  391.1 KB
    Or maybe after a table of 11 walked out after not even being approached to have their order taken, the owner decided to "create" an opening in the wait staff...

  20. #20
    dadto6 is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Aug 2013 Northern Virginia Posts: 2,044

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Astute observation Jim

  21. #21
    cassidain is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Jul 2007 Ailleurs Posts: 6,412

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    I will say this: French restaurant service is almost invariably overstretched except at grand restaurants; consequently, we show up for lunch at
    12h00 (30 minutes before the rush) and for dinner at 7h00 - 7h30 (30 minutes before the rush), depending on the circumstances. This makes a big difference in the quality of service, in our experience.
    Fils du Sud - Ministre de la Santé

    If I can't wear my Havaianas, I ain't goin'...ÀMHA

  22. #22
    TERP37 is offline
    SBH Member Joined: Oct 2015 Mars,Pa Posts: 146

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    had dinner there Sunday night- Jan 12 after early session at Nikki Beach--was not real crowded but our meal and service was very good

  23. #23
    TERP37 is offline
    SBH Member Joined: Oct 2015 Mars,Pa Posts: 146

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    but I think next year-Nikki beach day will be a pizza in the Villa kind of night!!-LOL

  24. #24
    amyb is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Apr 2008 Glen Cove,L. I., NY Posts: 26,052

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Quote Originally Posted by TERP37 View Post
    but I think next year-Nikki beach day will be a pizza in the Villa kind of night!!-LOL
    I totally understand, Jeff!
    Remember Yesterday, Dream About Tomorrow, But Live Today.

  25. #25
    dadto6 is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Aug 2013 Northern Virginia Posts: 2,044

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Cass,
    We always do lunch at 12:00 and dinner at 7:00 for your reasons stated.

  26. #26
    stbartshopper is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Dec 2013 Indianapolis, Indiana, U.S.A. Posts: 9,114

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    We always do 1PM and 8PM. We tried 7PM and found some restaurants weren’t ready for us but that was years ago at PR’s place in Saline at the time.

  27. #27
    amyb is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Apr 2008 Glen Cove,L. I., NY Posts: 26,052

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Which restaurant in Saline would that be? About when? Not my experience In these modern times.
    Remember Yesterday, Dream About Tomorrow, But Live Today.

  28. #28
    cec1 is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Jul 2008 Posts: 5,582

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Quote Originally Posted by cassidain View Post
    I will say this: French restaurant service is almost invariably overstretched except at grand restaurants; consequently, we show up for lunch at
    12h00 (30 minutes before the rush) and for dinner at 7h00 - 7h30 (30 minutes before the rush), depending on the circumstances. This makes a big difference in the quality of service, in our experience.
    Excellent advice!

  29. #29
    cec1 is offline
    SBH Insider Joined: Jul 2008 Posts: 5,582

    Re: QG Lunch 1/15/2020 Extremely Poor Service Today

    Quote Originally Posted by stbartshopper View Post
    We always do 1PM and 8PM. We tried 7PM and found some restaurants weren’t ready for us but that was years ago at PR’s place in Saline at the time.
    PaCri was notably “chill,” in all respects . . . and leisurely service was very nice, unless one felt in a rush (but why?). In this vein, Pascal Ramette seems to have become something of an intermittent staple in island dining — so many venues, & each of them beautifully done, IMO. I’m eager to try the new one.

Similar Threads

  1. Les Bananiers Lunch 1/13/2020
    By dadto6 in forum St Barts Restaurants Wine & Food Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-21-2020, 08:30 PM
  2. Poor service/customer relationships ?
    By cassidain in forum St Barts Restaurants Wine & Food Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-04-2019, 06:55 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •