Recap

cassidain

Senior Insider
It had been 2-1/2 years since our last venture down to the island, and I was feeling the need to test my interest in the place, to reconnect before too much time had passed. We had previously been in January, February, and the second half of April. We decided to try the very end of March/first of April.

We have stayed in Vitet, Gouverneur, St-Jean, La Pointe, and Merlette, but wanted to try les Hauts de Saint-Jean this time.

I studied the current restaurant scene for months and made a few reservations before coming down.

So, first, what is our interest in returning? From December thru February, about 30%. To escape our mid-winter weather we will mainly choose Naples but will work St-Barth in every few years. The remainder of the year we will go elsewhere to get our annual French fix. Better. Cheaper.

As for les Hauts de St-Jean, we enjoyed the convenience of its central location. The views encompass a broad sweep of the island. The activity of the airport is a daily source of entertainment. But, as always, make sure your accommodation's outside living areas are not sheltered from the cooling breezes.