VANISHING SAIL tonight

elgreaux

Senior Insider
If you are on the island please join us tonight (April 30) for the free, world-premiere screening of the film Vanishing Sail by Alexis Andrews - he also organizes the West Indies Regatta and is a great sailor and nautical photographer by trade.. the film is about traditional boat building in the Caribbean.. we are very proud to have the world premiere as the closing night of the 20th annual St Barth Film Festival. The film is at 8pm with music and food on the dock before and after....

vanishing.sail.poster.jpg

Wish we could attend. Any other way we can view this film from home? It sounds very interesting and I know Jeff and I would both enjoy seeing it.

You are such a force on island, Ellen, and I am sure the event will be a great success! Congratulations in advance!

We've planned our evening around this film. Early dinner at Le Carré, see what's happening on the quay, enjoy the movie, and then either stay on the quay or go back to Le Carré for dessert and live music there.

Congratulations to Ellen, Rosie, Josh and all involved in the 20th Anniversary FF! I'm sorry to have missed it.

Oh, I'm sorry to have missed this...
Hopefully it will play a limited engagement in NYC.

Nice work, Ellen.

It was a fun night under the stars on the quay, with 11 wooden boats moored a few feet away, and their crews in the audience. The movie Vanishing Sail is a documentary on the building of Exodus, the newest and potentially the last of the hand-built Carriacou Sloops. Built by Alwyn Enoe and his sons, the build, uncommissioned and without a buyer, was in part an attempt to hand down the boatbuilding skills to the next generation. I'll leave the synopsis at that, rather than including spoilers.